Frequently Asked Questions


Spreading Your Wings

1. What is Qigong?
Qi is usually translated as Energy, Intelligence; Gong is usually translated as Work, Cultivation. Qigong is a Chinese practice that has thousands of years of history and involves persistent work with mind, breath and body to gain health,longevity,intelligence, peace and spiritual liberation. There are many different Qigong categories that focus on the different goals mentioned.  To make sure you receive proper and safe instructions, we recommend you start your Qigong practice with a certified Qigong instructor instead of solely from reading a book or watching a video.

2. I am new to Qigong. Where should I start with Qi Dragon’s Qigong training?
You can either start with our Monday Night Qigong to try the exercises first, or take any of our one-day introductory Qigong workshop if any. To fully receive the progressive and systematic teachings, you can directly start with our Qigong Formal Study ProgramLevel 1 Part I Life Preservation Qigong, a two day weekend workshop which requires no previous experience. If you desire deeper instruction, more guided intensive practice in a group setting and build a foundation for becoming a certified Qigong instructor and a certified Te Yi Medical Qigong practitioner, you will need to take the Level 1 Part I Life Preservation Qigong as a prerequisite for joining our Qigong Certificate Program.

3. Is it ok to study your Qigong if I have studied other styles of Qigong before?
Yes, it’s no probem. Heavenly Essence Qigong arises from the synthesis of many traditional Qigong practices and doesn’t conflict with any other styles. This study will only broden your knowledge of Qigong and deepen your existing practice. In the beginning stage of studying Qigong, it is helpful to explore a little bit what styles and what teachings speak to you and fit your needs. With further understanding of Qigong, you will naturally arrive at a place where you have a more focused practice of a style that you are gravitated towards and commited to.

4. Is this a Medical Qigong school?
Yes but not limited to. We start our Te Yi Medical Qigong practices in Level 1.  This system has a big portion on Medical Qigong training and also offers other essential Daoist, Buddhist school advanced cultivation practices such as Microcosmic Orbit, Macrocosmic Orbit, internal Dan alchemy and etc. The whole system is based on the idea of realizing Life Self-control Project which emphasizes self cultivation and healing.  Te Yi Medical Qigong is included in this comprehensive system to serve as a tool of self healing and helping others to heal. We offer Level 1 Part III Te Yi Medical Qigong called Kylin Displaying its Wonders Six Healing Methods which allow you to do healing on many kinds of diseases for others and for being a better receiver of Qigong healing. In Level 2-4 we progressively offer more advanced Te Yi Medical Qigong methods that are traditionally considered Shamanic Medicine. Our whole Medical Qigong has a complete system called Te Yi (Special Medicine). Grandmaster Zhang was the founder of Te Yi Science which included not only Medical Qigong therapy, but also all the other traditional healing modalities such as music therapy, dance therapy, natural therapy, Daoist Shamanistic therapy, psycho-therapy and many more.

5. What is Kylin? Why do you use Kylin image?
Kylin 麒麟, an ancient Chinese mythylogical animal that combines in a single body the essence of different species of living beings: the dragon’s head, the pig’s nose, the snake’s scales, the deer’s body, the tiger’s back, the bear’s waists, the ox’s hooves and the lion’s tail. It belongs to none of these species, but combines the powers of each. It is used as a symbolic animal for the Heavenly Essence Culture or Kylin Culture which combines the essence of different aspects of traditional Chinese cultures and modern cultures and integrates Western and Eastern philosophies. Heavenly Essence Qigong is one of the eight systems of this culture and is one of the most elaborate syntheses of Qigong as a totalising knowledge system that includes the elements of the five major Qigong Categories – Confucius Qigong, Daoist Qigong, Buddhist Qigong, Medical Qigong and Martial Qigong.

6. What do I need to know about attending Monday Night Qigong?
Please click to read about the Special Notes on Monday Night Qigong prior to attending.

7.  Is Swimming Dragon Taichi part of Heavenly Essence Qigong system?
No. Swimming Dragon Taichi is not part of the Heavenly Essence Qigong, but part of Qi Dragon’s Cultivation System. It is part of the Taiyi Swimming Dragon Sect  which is the family traditon of Daoist Grandmaster Yu Anren. Liping is a disciple in both Swimming Dragon Sect and Heavenly Essence Qigong system and she integrates these two unusual systems into Qi Dragon™ Life Preservation and Dao Cultivation System to honor both lineages.  Swimming Dragon Quan is a unique and graceful moving form that combines Taichi, Qigong and Yogic stretching elements into one.  It is a movement form from a family system of Yu Anren, a special form that embodies beauty, strength, balance and grace.  In Qi Dragon’s Cultivation System, Swimming Dragon Quan is one of the main supplementary practices for the main Qigong training of Qi Dragon – Heavenly Essence Qigong system.

© 2011 Qi Dragon Healing Center | Liping Zhu L.Ac. E-mail:  | Phone: 415-828-2699 Design by Chi Nguyen with Suffusion Theme